On Doing Good

for-blog

Read: Galatians 6:9

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”  (Galatians 6:9)

Sometimes God gives us many opportunities to do good for others but we always miss them.

Sometimes it’s hard to do good especially if by doing so we are being abused.

Sometimes it’s just okay to do well to those who do us good, but for those who don’t we’d rather wish them bad things. We choose whom to be kind with.

And what about the times when doing well seemed so tiring?

Will I think only of my own welfare at all times? Will I do good only if it’s convenient for me? Will I extend help only to those who are able to help me?

Let us not become weary in doing good…”

Even when we feel we can’t do good anymore.

Even when we’re tired.

Even we don’t feel to do it.

Even when we are being abuse.

Even when we receive nothing in return.

“It is far better to give than to receive…”

Doing good is God’s way of distracting me from focusing too much on my own. From time to time He’s sending me people to help, to guide, or to give advice with. And even if I don’t have more finances or more material things, God still want me to offer all that I can offer to remind me I can’t live alone in this world. Sometimes God also sends me friends to help me or offer me something to enliven how it feels when others do me a favor.

We must not be weary in doing good not only that it made us feel good inside but also of God’s promise that “at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” I don’t know what’s the harvest are, I only want to learn to do good consistently. I want it to become part of my being. I want it to be genuine.

Lord, help me…

 

Leave a Reply

