When You have no House to Call your Own

DSC01930

Read: 2 Corinthians 5:1

Finding a house for rent here in Manila is not an easy task. When my husband and I were looking for a better house before we transfer here, we had many not so good experiences. We’re being asked if we have a credit card with Php50,000 in it, if we have no kids, if we could really afford the price, if it’s okay if we don’t cook in a  gas stove etc…

Some were too expensive and out of our budget for a two months advance and a month deposit. We found one that was big enough complete with cabinets and was also low in price but located near a river with a quarreling neighborhood and a very disgusting smell.

When finally we settled to an apartment near Hans’ school, we found out that our water bill was so high because we’re into a sub meter… at approximately four months; we have to look for another house.

The one we found now is exactly what I want, a three story house complete with kitchen cabinets—and perfect for my solitude. Yet, one friend of mine told me just today that there’s a flood in that place as high as (and sometimes higher than) my height, Aw!. Whenever there’s rain (yes, just rain not yet storm!) we will float and I was like, “Huh?! Lord, where would we go from here now?” As usual, I would resort to praying and searching for His will.

No matter how we search for a safer home, we know we could never find a perfect one. Safety comes only from the Lord. Our earthly house will always be bound to wear off no matter how and where it is built. Even our bodies are decaying no matter how careful we are.

It’s good to know that we will not forever be looking for a perfect house here… God builds a house for us in heaven and that’s something we must look forward to when we’re tired on looking for our own haven here.

“For we know that if our earthly house, this tenth is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in heaven.”

That house is not made with hands, a kind I don’t yet see here. There, I will never worry about my rent, about my water bill if  ever it’s fare enough, and I will never be afraid of the flood.

There, I will “dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord, and inquire in his temple.”

“Father, thank you for a promised house in heaven. You know I am tired of having no house of my own and of looking for a better house from time to time for my family. Father, always remind me of your house so I will always look forward for it when the inconveniences of renting a house comes. Father, I long to see your mansion in heaven where I belong…”

2 thoughts on “When You have no House to Call your Own

  1. I fully relate to and share your experience / worries.

    The Creator has Created trillions of species….humans are just the one specie. We also are the only one to have bank balance, credit cards, houses / homes. phones, shopping malls, gold, kitchens, insurance-policies…….so on.
    And still, we are the only specie who feels homeless and insecure.

    Are we resourceful or resource-fool ?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

